Posted by: Postordinandy | November 11, 2011

Remembering The Fallen

Remembrance Day is fraught with difficulty for me, not least of all because I’m a terrible speller.

I’m a pacifist instinctively, but one who understands that the world is a messy place. I marched against the ‘war’ last time around – along with many others, a good number of whom probably shared my suspicion that we were almost, but not quite, wasting our time.

My eldest daughter came back from school last week demanding 50p for a (red) Poppy, which once purchased she promptly lost. She’s 6, and didn’t seem to have much of an idea about why poppies were sometimes worn, although she was due to sing a fairly twee song about those who have ‘fallen’ in the wars at an assembly today.

I sometimes buy a poppy, sometimes not. I tried to find a white poppy the other year, but like Liberal Democrat MPs, they are harder to find in practice than you’d think. Plus there is always a question about their worth anyway.

I want to stand with those who have fallen, but in a way that reserves my right to disagree with the circumstances and ‘rationale’ of their sad passing.

Increasingly, we live in an age where people are the victims of war and other acts of terror, regardless of their political stance, geographical location or occupation. Various studies have argued it out about how many civilians vs army personnel are lost in conflict, but whatever the actual figures, the loss of one life is tragic – regardless of the individual concerned.

I will remember those who have fought and died for freedom, but even that one simple activity is fraught with problems, for what is this ‘freedom’ of which we speak and seek? One man’s freedom fighter is another man’s terrorist, after all.

I will remember those who have fallen in wars past and present. I will remember that we live in a fallen world, where this kind of tragedy has ever been thus. I will remember to remain quite cross about that.

 

Responses

  1. […] I attended the recent Remembrance Day service in Walthamstow, I was reminded a post I wrote 4 years ago, about how Remembrance Day and Poppy wearing (or not) is fraught for me. I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

