Posted by: Postordinandy | October 8, 2012

Droplet

I am a droplet.

A single mass of water.

Small and insignificant,

nothing of note, nothing of substance.

.

.

Alone I am ignored

easy to miss.

 

.

.

.

If you do notice me,

it may be as I hit you

gently,

or as I cling with desperation to a leaf

or a window pane.

.

.

.

.

Yet, when I am not alone,

when my brethren join me in great number…

I quench thirst,

revive failing crops

wash you clean

cook your food.

I am a delight to children

who eagerly redistribute me

with rubber boots

and mischievous hands.

.

.

I can drench you,

drown you,

wash you away,

destroy all you hold dear.

I am life

and death.

I hold both beauty and destruction

within my emptiness.

Look again,

do you see it now?

Closer.

See how I bend light?

See your reflection

inverted, suspended, within?

Without me there is no rainbow,

no surf crashing on the shore.

A water fall becomes a cliff face,

a river a dirt track.

I am a droplet.

A single mass of water.

Small and insignificant,

nothing of note, nothing of substance.

Alone I am ignored

easy to miss.

Responses

  1. […] Original work from roguepioneer […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

