Posted by: Postordinandy | March 8, 2013

I walk with a limp

I walk with a limp I don’t always notice.

It’s part of me now

The echo of past pain and trauma.

 

My heart beats with a broken rhythm.

It does the job

But sometimes threatens to break.

 

My back gets sore and stiff.

I remain mostly upright

And still try to carry too much.

 

My eyesight is no longer 20:20.

I have seen too much

Beauty and horror, they both leave a scar.

 

I am, on occasion, quite deaf.

I strain to hear the truth

But am able to tune out what I choose.

 

There are lines on my face.

Traces of laughter

Emotions have stretched and marked my skin.

 

I walk with a limp.

Leave a Reply

Categories

