Posted by: Postordinandy | March 25, 2014

John 15 (pt 2)

I was once told that joy was the mark of a mature Christian…

By that audit I am still a babe in arms.

But joy comes in many forms,

And at peculiar times.

.

I have been joyful at the funeral of a friend:

Tear-stained happy memories embraced.

I have celebrated as friends disappear over the horizon:

Knowing I will not see them for a long time,

But happy that they are walking in the will of their God.

My heart has danced unbridled, even as I am too tired to smile.

I have painted glorious chaos when words have fled,

And attempted to nail the butterfly wings of thoughts as prose.

.

And your joy in me is ever-present.

You look on with unconcealed pride at my faltering steps and stuttered speech.

My feeble efforts to remain are met with praise,

My grim determination to stay, robustly celebrated.

And although the puzzle pieces are neither fully identified nor placed neatly together,

My joy is complete.

.

“I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.” [John 15:11]

Leave a Reply

Categories

