Posted by: Postordinandy | August 18, 2015

When the Black Dog barks…

When the Black Dog barks…

I don’t want you to know, and you’ll never guess.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I tell everyone and anyone: I just don’t shut up about it,

I am the last one to know he is there.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I bark at other people,

I turn up the music loud!

I can’t hear a word you are saying.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I can’t wake up,

I can’t get to sleep,

I can’t get out of bed,

I can’t read, can’t even concentrate on the TV,

I work too hard,

I don’t work at all.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I think myself out of the situation,

I throw him a stick,

I bark back at him ‘til he cowers,

I flinch and hide behind a cushion.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I can’t feel my thoughts,

I can’t turn my brain off,

I can’t get it to start.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I drink too much alcohol,

I eat too much cake.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I forget to eat at all,

While the dishes pile up in the sink.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I exercise hard,

I eat well and think positive thoughts,

I pull those socks up and snap out of it,

I sit in my pants on the sofa in the dark.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I look at the glass full of potential,

I look at the glass draining away,

I only see shattered fragments of glass on the floor.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

I find refuge in the laughter of my children,

I revel in the comfort of friends.

I let my daughters watch DVDs all day,

I ‘forget’ to answer texts or meet you in the pub.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

Sometimes I control how I respond,

Sometimes I am overwhelmed.

.

When the Black Dog barks…

Leave a Reply

Categories

