Posted by: Postordinandy | November 7, 2016

A poem for the world, at the dawn of the US election

I am Them, and they are us.

Driven into retreat by fear and distrust,

I scamper towards the nearest thing to light I see,

Not pausing to reflect on the source,

Nor causing to see my own bias.

.

I am Them, and they are us.

Trying to see the best in the other,

Failing to see the worst in myself,

I filter through alternate views,

And conclude that only I know best.

.

I am Them, and they are us.

Post-Brexit triumphant Leaver, wounded Remainer,

Post-Trump, Pre-Clinton,

War-Zoned out and switched off to the pain of others,

Anesthetising my own with caricature and causality.

.

I am Them, and they are us.

Created together, by God or by chance,

Infinitely more in common with my chosen enemy,

Than we have arbitrarily opted to define as different.

I am Them, and they are us.

(image source)
Leave a Reply

Categories

